Andhra Pradesh to celebrate Formation Day on Nov 1

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  22 Oct 2019 8:09 AM GMT
Andhra Pradesh to celebrate Formation Day on Nov 1

Amaravati: The Andhra Pradesh government will celebrate its Formation Day officially on November 1. The previous Telugu Desam (TD) government did not celebrate AP Formation Day for the past five years. Chief Secretary L.V. Subramanyam has directed the officials to make arrangements for the AP Formation Day at district and the state level.

The state government has set up two sub-committees to organising cultural activities and finalise eminent personalities for awards.

The Chief Secretary discussed with the secretaries from several departments about the arrangements to be made to celebrate the AP Formation Day on a grand note.

The meeting took place at the Secretariat in Amaravati, Andhra Pradesh. Mr Subramanyam said, "The state government will celebrate AP Formation Day on November 1. The state-level celebrations would be held at Tummalapalli Kalakshetram in Vijayawada, and there will be a district-level celebration at the respective headquarters.”

He added, “Since the celebrations for the 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi are ongoing, the state will honour and felicitate freedom fighters. And, those who participated in demand for Andhra Pradesh state. Prepare an action plan on the AP Formation Day celebrations department wise. We have to honour those who contributed to Telugu literature and language development. Prepare a list of sportspersons from the state.”

The Chief Secretary has directed the General Administration Department (GAD) to issue orders to all the district collectors. The GAD asked them to make necessary arrangements for the AP Formation Day.

“All the district collectors should engage hotels and restaurants to focus on popular Andhra foods and recipes,” said the Chief Secretary.

The AP government chief advisor Ajay Kallam, advisors – G.V.D Krishnamohan, Sajjala Ramakrishna Reddy—Telugu Adhikara Basha Sangam president Yarlagadda Lakshmiprasad, special chief secretary Manmohan Singh, principal secretaries – Pravin Kumar, Gopalakrishna Dwivedi, S.S. Rawath, and Information Department Commissioner T. Vijaykumar Reddy will be part of the committees on AP Formation Day.

The TD government did not celebrate November 1 as AP Formation Day for the last five years. Instead, it had been holding Nava Nirmana Deeksha day on June 2. The TD government had asked the Centre for clarification on AP Formation Day whether it's June 2 or November 1.

Responding to this doubt, the Centre had said that AP should celebrate its Formation Day on November 1. The Centre also gave an example of how four new states are celebrating their Formation Day on partition day. The original state celebrates the earlier date, on which they used to celebrate. Considering this, the YSRCP-led AP government will be celebrating AP Formation Day on November 1 for the first time after Telangana bifurcation.

Next Story
Share it