AP to have 25 districts

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  21 Dec 2019 1:00 PM GMT
AP to have 25 districts

-Visakhapatnam: Asserting that creation of three capitals for Andhra Pradesh would boost the development of three regions of the State, YSR Congress Party General Secretary and Rajya Sabha MP V Vijayasai Reddy said on Saturday that the government is planning to increase the number of districts from the existing 13 to 25 in order to ensure effective administration.

Speaking at the birthday celebration of Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy at the party office, Vijayasai Reddy said the they have started the exercise to increase the number of districts, he said all big districts would be divided into two or three districts.

Small districts serve administrative purposes and also help implementation of welfare schemes in a more systematic manner, he added.

TDP leaders are opposing three capitals for their selfish and real estate business interests, Reddy pointed out.

Speaking to reporters, District Collector V Vinay Chand said that they are yet to receive any communication from the government on making Vizag city as the Executive capital. Vizag has huge chunk of government lands in the outskirts and Vizag is ideal for being the Executive capital, Vinay Chand, said.

Sources said that district administration has been on the job of identifying suitable lands in between Madhurawada and Anandapuran for the same.

Tourism Minister M Srinivasa Rao also endorsed the three capitals proposal, although CPM and CPI leaders suggested that Executive and Legislative should be at one place.

Next Story
Share it