Counting begins; Telangana municipal poll results by 5 PM

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  25 Jan 2020 2:48 AM GMT
Counting begins; Telangana  municipal poll results by 5 PM

Hyderabad: Counting of votes for the elections in 120 municipalities and 9 municipal corporations across Telangana will begin at 8 am today. Through the next couple of hours, it will be clear if the TRS juggernaut rolling since 2014 will maintain its position or be stopped by the Opposition.

State Election Commission commissioner V Nagi Reddy said on Friday that they had made all arrangements for the counting of votes. He said the voter turnout in the municipalities was 74.4 per cent (previous 75.85 per cent), while it was 58.8 per cent (previous 60.63 per cent) in municipal corporations.

Nagi Reddy said the final results are expected to be out by this evening.

The indirect election of mayors and chairpersons will be held on January 27. Karimnagar will go for mayoral polls on January 29 as its counting of votes for the municipal corporation election will be done on January 27.

The poll official made it clear that they would pick the winner based on a lottery in case more than one candidates secure the highest number of votes for the post of a mayor or chairperson.

Nagi Reddy asked all political parties to give the names of their candidates for mayors and chairpersons through A and B forms. The 'A' form has to be submitted before 11 am on January 26 and 'B' form before 10 am on January 27. He said that political parties will need to appoint their whips for the indirect elections. The names of the whips will have to be shared with the poll body before 11 am on January 26.

A special election model code will be in force for the indirect elections from January 25 evening onwards. This code of conduct will be imposed in the same manner as any other general elections.

Nagi Reddy said ex-officio members will also have the voting right in picking mayors and chairpersons. If there is a single municipality in an Assembly constituency, the local MP, MLA and MLCs will be able to cast their vote in that municipality or corporation as an ex-officio member. In case there are more than one municipalities in a constituency, then the MP, MLA and MLCs will need to provide their choice

Next Story
Share it