Dale Steyn takes a dig at CSA, apologises to Kohli

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  14 Aug 2019 9:55 AM GMT
Dale Steyn takes a dig at CSA, apologises to Kohli

After his name did not figure in the Proteas T-20I squad for the upcoming India tour, Dale Steyn took a jibe at the Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) selectors, saying he made himself available for selection, but the selectors missed his number.

Replying to a tweet from a user, who pointed out that his name was omitted from the squad as he made himself unavailable for the selection, Steyn wrote, “I did…Obviously lost my number in the reshuffling of the coaching staff (sic).”

Reacting to Steyn’s tweet, the user replied, “The new selectors are obviously saving you for the ‘big’ games. (Who are the new selectors?) (sic).”

The 36-year-old pacer came back with a swinging reply and apologised to the Indian fans and skipper Virat Kohli. Steyn wrote, “Apologies to Virat and a billion people for thinking they not.”

On Wednesday, South Africa announced the squads for the Indian tour in which wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock will be leading his side in T20Is.

Apart from Dale Steyn, Faf du Plessis has also not been included in the three-match T20I series but he will continue to lead the Test side. Rassie van der Dussen will serve as de Kock’s deputy in the series while Bavuma has been named as vice-captain of the Test side.

The first T20I will take place on September 15 in Dharamsala, followed by the Test series, starting on October 2 in Visakhapatnam.

The Teams:

*South Africa Test squad

Faf du Plessis (C), Temba Bavuma (VC), Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second.

*South Africa T20I squad

Quinton de Kock (C), Rassie van der Dussen (VC), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

Next Story