Elections for 4 Rajya Sabha seats scheduled for 19 June in AP

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  1 Jun 2020 3:37 PM GMT
Elections for 4 Rajya Sabha seats scheduled for 19 June in AP

Hyderabad: Elections for 18 Rajya Sabha seats, including four from Andhra Pradesh, will be held on 19 June, the Election Commission of India announced on 1 June.

The elections, which were scheduled to be held in March, were postponed in view of the COVID-19 pandemic. The 18 seats are from Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, and Rajasthan.

The Y.S Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSRC government in Andhra Pradesh had earlier nominated ministers Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose and Mopidevi Venkata Ramana, and two industrialists, Alla Ayodhya Rami Reddy and Parimal Nathwani, for the four seats in the state. Notably, all four will go to the YSRC since it has a majority, 151 MLAs in the 175-member House. Although the TDP has only 23 MLAs, it has nominated senior leader Varla Ramaiah for the Upper House.

The Election Commission has directed the chief secretaries of the states to appoint a senior officer to ensure that all instructions regarding COVID-19 precautions are followed during the elections.

Next Story
Share it