From municipal-poll baptism to political highs

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  12 Jan 2020 12:08 PM GMT
From municipal-poll baptism to political highs


  • Many have risen from corporator ranks to Union Minister levels

Hyderabad: Municipal elections have become a launching pad for individuals to take their political career to the highest corridors of power as local polls lay a solid foundation for the candidates to grow in public life. Starting off as corporators, several leaders have emerged as Union Ministers.

For instance, Telangana Deputy Speaker T Padmarao Goud was a two-term corporator from Monda division in Secunderabad. BJP Telangana Unit President Dr K Laxman won as a corporator in Baldia elections. Renuka Chowdhary was Banjara Hills corporator, who became a Union Minister. The list is endless.

Former Hyderabad Mayor Teegala Krishna Reddy, Gangula Kamalakar, Nannapuneni Narendra and Dasyam Vinaybhaskar, among like them, shot to fame after contesting local polls.

Government Chief Whip Dasyam Vinaybhaskar was also corporator in Warangal Municipal Corporation as was former Warangal Mayor Nannapuneni Narendar, who presently represents Warangal East Assembly constituency.

LB Nagar MLA Devireddy Sudhir Reddy was corporator from Akbarbagh division in Hyderabad for two terms. Sudhir Reddy worked as Huda chairman as well and was elected as MLA for the second time. Kaleru Venkatesh is MLA from Amberpet and earlier was corporator from Amberpet division. Mushiradabad MLA Mutta Gopal was corporator from Jawaharnagar division 30 years ago.

The story is no different for AIMIM leaders. Several Majlis leaders rose to state-level politics from a humble beginning in municipal elections. Out of seven AIMIM MLAs, three are former corporators, including Ahmed Balala, Jafar Husseini Miraz and Mumtaz Ahmed Khan. Former Dabirpura corporator Riyzul Hasan is now MLC.

Raja Singh, BJP’s lone MLA in Telangana, was also a corporator from Mangalhat in Hyderabad. Former Ramagundam MLA and Minister Somarapu Satyanarayana also came through Ramagundam Municipal corporation. Sangareddy MLA Jagga Reddy was also a Municipal chairman.

Next Story
Share it