The BCCI, on Thursday, announced the Indian squad for the T20 series against South Africa. The first T20 is scheduled for 15th September at the HPCA stadium in Himachal Pradesh.

The team, led by Virat Kohli, is followed by Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar and Navdeep Saini.

Similar read: This is how the greatest Test series ‘The Ashes’ were born

The exclusion, which came as surprise, was that of former Captain and wicket-keeper batsman, MS Dhoni. MS last played the semifinal of the 2019 Cricket World Cup against New Zealand and had taken a break from cricket to serve the Territorial army in Kashmir.

Ace bowlers Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar were rested as India's search for a backup bowler continue with the likes of Navdeep Saini, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Rahul Chahar and Washington Sundar, as the T20 World Cup begins in November this of year in Australia.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya made a comeback into the side after being rested for the ongoing Windies Tour due to niggle and his continuous workload.

Team India is currently on a tour to the West Indies, as the second and final test against them begins tomorrow.

Anurag Mallick

A sports enthusiast, Anurag Mallick is currently working with Newsmeter as a reporter. He is a mass communication graduate from Loyola Academy. He is also a budding presenter and loves talking in front of the camera. His future aim is to discuss cricket professionally. He has earlier interned with a YouTube Channel, "Hind ki Pukaar" where he spoke on various topics infront of the camera. He has also interned with "WrytIn", a content writing platform, where he wrote articles on sports & entertainment. "Lights, Camera, Cricket" is what sums him up. He also loves playing cricket and other sports like Badminton & Volleyball.

Next Story