Hyderabad: India U-19 on Saturday won the Asia Cup for the seventh time. They defeated Bangladesh U-19 by 5 runs in a nail-biting final held at the Premadasa Stadium.

The Indian batting line up looked clueless as Mrittunjoy Chowdhury and Shamim Hossain picked 3 wickets each. Only three Indian batsmen could reach the double figures with Karan Lal’s top score of 37 runs. Skipper Dhruv Jurel scored 33 runs as India were bowled out for a mere 106 runs in 32.4 overs.

What looked like a cakewalk for the Bangladeshi Batsmen turned into a nightmare as left-arm spinner Atharva Ankolekar ran through the Bangladeshi batting line up by picking 5 crucial wickets. Akash Singh picked 3 wickets from the other end. The two made sure India won the ACC U-19 Asia Cup for a record second time in a thrilling finish by 5 runs.

Atharva Ankolekar was adjudged the Man of the Match for his wonderful bowling figures of 5 wickets in 28 balls.

Anurag Mallick

A sports enthusiast, Anurag Mallick is currently working with Newsmeter as a reporter. He is a mass communication graduate from Loyola Academy. He is also a budding presenter and loves talking in front of the camera. His future aim is to discuss cricket professionally. He has earlier interned with a YouTube Channel, "Hind ki Pukaar" where he spoke on various topics infront of the camera. He has also interned with "WrytIn", a content writing platform, where he wrote articles on sports & entertainment. "Lights, Camera, Cricket" is what sums him up. He also loves playing cricket and other sports like Badminton & Volleyball.

Next Story