India win the super over, clinch T20 series in New Zealand for the first time

By Anurag Mallick  Published on  29 Jan 2020 11:19 AM GMT
India win the super over, clinch T20 series in New Zealand for the first time

Hyderabad: The Men in blue scripted history as they gained an unbeatable lead of 3-0 in the series and won the match in the Super-over at Hamilton. Virat Kohli became the first Indian Captain to win a T20 series in Newzealand.

The Kiwis won the toss and elected to bowl first, keeping in mind the history of this ground. To India's despair, they lost the last 4 games played there.

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul walked out to bat and started attacking right from the word go. It was KL Rahul first and then Rohit Sharma who was batting on 24 (18). He then scored 26 off the next 5 balls to bring up his fifty from 23 balls. India were 69 /0 in the powerplay.

KL Rahul then placed one straight to Colin Munro and walked back to the pavilion for 27.

Rohit Sharma then got out to Bennett on 65 and missed out on what could have been a 5th T20 Hundred. Shivam Dube threw his wicket in the same over as India were down to 96/3.

Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer took the scoreboard forward with some odd boundaries. Shreyas was soon stumped on 17. Virat Kohli then hit one straight to Southee on 38. Manish Pandey and Ravindra Jadeja hit a six each at the end to take India to 179/5.

The Kiwis had a target of 180 to save the series after being down 2-0. Martin Guptill started attacking the bowlers and set it up for New Zealand but lost his wicket to a wonderful catch by Samson. Munro was soon stumped for 14 off Jadeja. Santhner walked in to bat but couldn't score much as Chahal bowled him up clean. Kane Williamson kept the lone battle on from one side as de Grandhomme fell for 5. Kane Williamson kept fighting at one end and particularly attacked Jasprit Bumrah but couldn't finish the game for the Kiwis as he got out for 95.

Tim Seifert ran for a leg bye and the equation was down to 1 from 1. Shami cleaned Taylor up to end the match for a tie.

It was all down to the Super over as Kane Williamson and Guptill came in to bat. The ball was given to Jasprit Bumrah. He bowled the first two balls for singles and then gave away 15 runs. The target was 18 for India to win.

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul walked out to bat and had to score 18 to win the match and the series.

The duo couldn't middle the ball for the first two balls and made 3. KL Rahul then scored a boundary and gave the strike to Rohit Sharma. It was 10 runs from 2 balls as Rohit Sharma hit 2 consecutive sixes as India won the match in the super over and the series by 3-0.

Rohit Sharma was adjudged the Man of the Match award for his heroics with the bat. The fourth T20 will be played at Wellington on Friday.

Next Story