Jayesh Ranjan new president of Telangana Olympic Association

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  10 Feb 2020 5:08 AM GMT
Jayesh Ranjan new president of Telangana Olympic Association

Hyderabad: IT secretary Jayesh Ranjan has been elected as president of Telangana Olympic Association (TOA). Jayesh won the election by 13 votes lead against K Ranga Rao. The elections for TOA took place at LB Stadium Olympics Bhavan. Jayesh got 46 votes and Ranga Rao 33 as a total of 81 votes out of 84 votes polled.

Jayesh Ranjan panel won president and four other positions in total 26 posts. Cross voting resulted in an unexpected outcome for the other posts, said a member of Jayesh Ranjan panel.

Contrary to the expectations, A Jaganmohan Rao, president of Telangana Handball Association, lost to Jagadishwar Yadav for General Secretary position. Rao lost it by just two votes.

Jaganmohan Rao said that he would move court against the malpractices taking place in elections for Telangana Olympic Association.

"Indian Olympic Association (IOA) initially gave the voting right to 30 associations, but later increased to 42. This created a lot of imbalance and led to malpractices in the voting process. Cross voting took place in the elections. We will also complain against Justice B Chandrakumar, returning officer. We expect re-elections for TOA within a month and our entire panel will sweep the elections if done in a total transparency manner," said Jaganmohan Rao, while congratulating Jayesh Ranjan, who won as president of Telangana Olympic Association.

Ranga Rao Panel candidate Jagadishwar Yadav got 41 votes, and Jaganmohan Rao polled 39 votes. Ranga Rao panel candidate K Maheshwar won against Phani Rao for Treasurer post. Maheshwar got 46 votes, and Phari Rao received 31 votes, while four votes declared as not valid.

S Venugopala Chary with 67 votes, Rafat Ali with 60 votes, Prem Raj with 57 votes and Saral Talwar with 53 votes won as vice-president positions.

Jayesh Ranjan panel candidate A Someshwar with 40 votes won as joint secretary. Ranga Rao panel candidates -- Malla Reddy with 49 votes, Ramakrishna with 45 votes and Darshan Isaac with 63 votes-- won as joint secretaries.

Abbas Kirmani, Dattatreya, Mahender Reddy, Purushotham, Rama Koteshwara Rao, K Ramakrishna, Ismail Baig, Hanza Bin Omar, T Swamy and Md Khaza Khan won as EC members of Telangana sports councils.

Rajendra Prasad, Aziz Khan, Janardhan Reddy and Manohar Zilla won as EC members for Olympic associations.

Next Story
Share it