KCR to expand cabinet: KTR, Harish and 4 others to be sworn in today

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  8 Sep 2019 3:42 AM GMT
KCR to expand cabinet: KTR, Harish and 4 others to be sworn in today

Hyderabad: Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao has decided to expand his cabinet, and swearing-in of new ministers will be held on Sunday at 4.00pm in Raj Bhavan. The state cabinet has a strength of 12 including Chief Minister currently, and as per norms, six more ministers can be inducted taking it to 18.

K Chandrashekara Rao's son K T Rama Rao and his nephew T Harish Rao are all likely to be inducted in the cabinet today. The other prominent names figured are former MMinister Sabita Indra Reddy, Puvvada Ajay, Gangula Kamalakar Reddy and Satyavati Rathod.

Harish Rao and KT Rama Rao were kept out of the cabinet since the party came into power for the second time.

Sabita Indra Reddy has defected from Congress after she won as MLA in Maheswaram is an ex-Home Minister and is now to be inducted. So far that cabinet thas no women minister, and KCR had drawn criticism for the same.

Chief Minister KCR may also revamp the cabinet portfolios. KT Rama may be likely to get Information Technology and Harish Rao either Finance or Irrigation. Gangula Kamalakar has been asked to come to Hyderabad immediately to be sworn in as Minister. Gangula Kamalakar is from Munnur Kapu caste and KCR has decided to give representation to Munnur Kapus in the cabinet. Satyavathi Rathod will be another women minister in the cabinet.


K Chandrasekhara Rao has decided September 8 Dasami auspicious day for cabinet expansion. Chief Secretary SK Joshi has instructed officials to make arrangements for the swearing-in ceremony. A cabinet meeting will be held in the evening at 7 pm today.

The new Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan will administer oath for the new cabinet minister. Due to increasing chorus including Health Minister Etela Rajendar's comments on the ownership of the party flag, ministers loosing grip over administration resulting in chaotic situations like dengue outbreak, rise of BJP , dissent brewing in the party for not inducting Harish Rao, support from party MLAs to induct K T Rama Rao has led Chief Minister K Chandrashekara Rao's to induct six in the cabinet.

Next Story