Maharashtra Assembly Polls: BJP announces 125 candidates

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  1 Oct 2019 1:40 PM GMT
Maharashtra Assembly Polls: BJP announces 125 candidates

Mumbai: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday announced 125 candidates for the ensuing by-election to the Parliamentary Constituency and General Election to the Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis will contest from the Nagpur South West seat, the state's BJP Chief Chandrakant Patil will contest from Kothrud, and Shivendrasinh Abhaysingraje Bhosale from Satara.

While addressing the media, BJP's General Secretary Arun Singh said the party had not given tickets to 12 of its MLAs. The BJP will contest the Maharashtra Assembly election in an alliance with the Shiv Sena and some small parties. The announcement of candidates list comes a day after both BJP and Shiv Sena finalised their alliance on Monday

The Election Commission of India on September 21 announced that the Maharashtra assembly election would take place on October 21, with counting on October 24.

Next Story