New Zealand win by 22 runs; clinch first ODI series against India since 2014

By Anurag Mallick  Published on  8 Feb 2020 10:30 AM GMT
New Zealand win by 22 runs; clinch first ODI series against India since 2014

Hyderabad: Coming at the back of a huge win in the first ODI, the Kiwis were high on confidence when they took on Virat and men in the second ODI at Auckland on Saturday. The Kiwis continued their fine form as they beat ndia by22 runs and won the Odi series by 2-0, their first since 2014.

The coin this time, landed on Virat's corner as he elected to bowl first, backing the team's chasing abolish and also the win record batting second at Auckland. India had one change in the form of Navdeep Saini as Mohammed Shami was left out.

The Kiwis brought in debutant, Kyle Jamieson on his home ground. Mark Chapman was also included in the team.

The Kiwis were again off to a solid start as Henry Nicholls and Martin Guptill put up an opening stand of 93 until Nicholls was trapped leg before off Chahal. Martin Guptill and Tom Blundell then took control over the innings as Guptill started attacking the bowlers. Tom Blundell then ran out of resistance as he was caught out. A miss communication between Ross Taylor and Guptill led to the run-out of Martin Guptill on 79.

However, Ross Taylor continued his fine form from the last match and took the innings forward but didn't get the support from the other end. The Debutant Kyle Jamieson then stuck around with Taylor to conclude the New Zealand innings at 273/8.

The brand new opening duo of Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal started off the Indian chase with Prithvi Shaw scoring three boundaries of the first over. Mayank failed to add to the team's total as he knicked one to Taylor at the slip cordon. Prithvi too was cleaned up for a good-looking 24 by debutant Kyle Jamieson.

India were looking in all-sorts of trouble when Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer walked in. The duo took India over 50 as Virat Kohli was cleaned up by Southee. The wait for a century prolonged for yet another match.

The middle order except for Shreyas Iyer couldn't rise on to the occasion as Iyer scored yet another fifty but soon got out. The duo of Ravindra Jadeja and Navdeep Saini then emerged as the saviour for Indian. They added 76 valuable runs for the eighth wicket.

As India were slowly making a comeback, the Debutant Kyle Jamieson shattered all the dreams by dismissing Saini for 45. Chahal too played his bit by scoring 10 before falling short of the crease. Ravindra Jadeja, trying to send one over the line, placed it straight on to the hands of de Grandhomme as India was bundled out for 251. They lost the match by 22 runs and the series for the first time since 2014.

Next Story