Pilli Subhash and Mopidevi Ramana to be nominated to Rajya Sabha by Jagan

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  6 March 2020 10:27 AM GMT
Pilli Subhash and Mopidevi Ramana to be nominated to Rajya Sabha by Jagan


  • One among Beeda Masthan and Y V Subba Reddy also in the fray
  • Fourth seat will be given to Parimal Natwani, as part of the understanding between YSRCP and BJP

Vijayawada: Equations changed in YSRCP over finalising the names of the party nominees to be sent to Rajya Sabha. It may be noted that Six Rajya Sabha members are going to retire this month from AP and Telangana. Out of six, four from AP, and two from Telangana will be elected.

In this context, aspirants have started their efforts to draw the attention of the YSRCP Supremo YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, as all four seats will go in favour of YSRCP, as per numerical strength in AP Assembly. With this YSRCP is going to enhance its strength to six next year after Rajya Sabha elections. As per the earlier reports, Alla Ayodhyaramireddy, Beedaa Masthanrao, Gokaraju Rangaraju, son of Gokaraju Gangaraju and one from scheduled castes were the names came up for discussion.

However, the name of YV Subba Reddy, present TTD chairman is also being actively considered, sources said. YV Subba Reddy is the relative of the Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy and was promised Rajya Sabha seat when Magunta Srinivasulureddy given Ongole Loksabha seat which was represented by YV Subba Reddy earlier.

The sitting Rajya Sabha members from YSRCP – V Vijaysai Reddy and Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy are from one community, and another one from the same community will be considered according to sources. The party high command may finalise the candidature of Ayodhyarami Reddy or YV Subba Reddy, from Reddy community, sources said. Beeda Masthan Rao (BC Yadava), Gokaraju Rangaraju (Kshatriya) and one prominent personality from SC community are likely to be the nominees of YSRCP, for Rajya Sabha, they added.

Out of the existing 11 members from Andhra Pradesh in Rajya Sabha, Dr T Subbarami Reddy and Mohammed Ali Khan of Congress, Thota Seetharama Lakshmi of TDP, and K Keshava Rao of TRS, will retire from Rajya Sabha, on April 9.

When it comes to the rest of the 11 members, Suresh Prabhu, Y S Chowdary, and T G Venkatesh, all from Bharatiya Janata Party, will retire on 2022 June 21, and another member of BJP- C M Ramesh will retire on 2024 April 2. While V Vijaysai Reddy of YSRCP retires on 2022 June 21, Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy of the same party, and, Kanakamedala Raveendra Kumar of TDP will retire on 2024 April 2.

With the above statistics, it is indicated that YSRCP will have four more members in Rajya Sabha next year, and TDP’s strength will come down to only one. However, again in 2022, the YSRCP will get three more seats in Rajya Sabha, as three BJP members will retire in that year.

Meanwhile, the changed equations have been suggesting that the Ministers Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose and Mopidevi Venkata Ramana are the likely candidates for Rajya Sabha, apart from Beeda Masthan Rao, who is also from BC segment. It is learnt that the fourth seat will be given to Parial Natwani of BJP, as part of the understanding between the YSRCP and BJP. Since the AP Legislative Assembly scraped the Legislative Council, the Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy wants to accommodate both the Ministers-Pilli and Mopidevi, in Rajya Sabha. It may be noted that both of them were elected to the Legislative Council.

Next Story
Share it