• Attendance of Congress MP, Revanth Reddy- 54%
  • Attendance of YSRCP MP Y.S Avinash Reddy, the lowest- 46%
  • BJP MP Sanjay Kumar Bandi, the most regular among TS MPs

Hyderabad: Congress MP Revanth Reddy from Malkajgiri assembly constituency of Telangana and YSR Congress (YSRC) MP Y.S Avinash Reddy from Kadapa constituency of Andhra Pradesh recorded the lowest attendance in the 17th Lok Sabha. As on October 20, 2019, Revanth Reddy’s attendance was only 54%, while that Y.S Avinash Reddy was a mere 46% against the Lok Sabha average of 80%. When it comes to questions asked in Parliament, Revanth Reddy scores a straight zero. The attendance of the two MPs from the Telugu states in the 17th Lok Sabha was the least. The 17th Lok Sabha session began on May 23, 2019.

According to data published by PRS Legislative, an independent body that records the proceedings of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. YSRC MPs from Andhra Pradesh, Beesetti Venkata Satyavathi, Sanjeev Kumar Ayshman and Talari Rangaiah are the only MPs who clocked 100% attendance.

Mps' Attendance                      Telangana and Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha MPs with lower than 80% attendance


In Telangana, first-time BJP MP Sanjay Kumar Bandi from Karimnagar is the most regular among the state’s MPs with 97% attendance. Another BJP MP, Dharmapuri Arvind from Nizamabad who defeated K. Kavitha, daughter of Telangana Chief Minister Chandrasekhar Rao. Dharmapuri Arvind registered the second-highest attendance of 92%.

MP Asaduddin Owaisi, the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief registered 89% attendance. Mr Owaisi is also the most active Parliament member. Till date, he has asked 68 questions and participated in 17 debates. MP Sanjay Kumar Bandi, who is the most regular among the state’s MPs, however, scored zero when it came to the number of questions asked.

Among the MPs from Andhra Pradesh, YSRC’s Suresh Nandigam from Bapatla constituency follows Avinash Reddy with 49% attendance. The MP also scored a zero in the number of questions asked. Avinash Reddy has however asked 39 questions till date.

Three MPs from the Telugu Desam (TD) scored an average attendance of 80%. Kesineni Srinivas from Vijayawada constituency and TD Parliamentary leader, Jayadev Galla from Guntur constituency recorded 97% attendance. TD MP Ram Mohan Naidu from Srikakulam also recorded 95% attendance.

Dheeshma Puzhakkal

Dheeshma Puzhakkal is currently a Reporter with Newsmeter. An alumnus of Hyderabad Central University, she has interned with Greater Kashmir newspaper and NDTV. Dheeshma has also made short films and documentaries. Her documentary ‘Still I Rise’, which is based on sex-trafficking in Hyderabad’s Old City, has earned accolades in several film festivals, such as International Documentary and Short Film Festival, Kerala (IDSFFK). An avid foodie, she loves to travel and listen to stories that others tell. Photography is one of her all-time interests. She has extensively written on satellite-based journalism, health, consumer, and data stories besides covering anti-crime investigative agencies.

One comment on "Revanth Reddy from TS and Avinash Reddy from AP record lowest attendance in Lok Sabha"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *