Mumbai: The incumbent Ravi Shastri has been retained as the Head Coach of the Indian men’s cricket team. The decision was taken by the Cricket Advisory committee (CAC) which was formed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

The three-member committee included former India’s World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev, former Indian cricketer and two-time Indian cricket team coach Anshuman Gaekwad and former women Test cricketer Shantha Rangaswamy. The announcement was made by Kapil at a press conference on Friday evening.

The new tenure for Ravi Shastri will be for the period of September 2019 till the end of the ICC World T20Is in 2021 which will be hosted by India.

Currently, the Indian cricket team is in the West Indies where they have already clinched the T20Is and One-Day series respectively. India will also play two Test matches in this tour with the first one set to start from August 22.

Apart from Shastri, who was running favourite for the top coach job and also had skipper Virat Kohli’s backing, Mike Hesson, Robin Singh, Tom Moody and Lalchand Rajput had also applied for the post.

However, according to the meeting convened by the CAC members, Ravi Shastri topped the list in order of preference while Hesson and Moody where second and third respectively on that list.


In the official press-release issued by the BCCI announcing the retaining of Ravi Shastri as the Head Coach who topped the preference list, Mike Hesson was wrongly spelled as Mike ‘Hassen.’

Bhartendu Sharma

A journalist by profession who has been into reporting from four years. Bhartendu Sharma has worked across all the three mediums -- Online, Print and Television. Previously, he has worked with PageScoop media (a Delhi-based website). Later, Bhartendu moved to Deccan Chronicle, Hyderabad, where he covered many national and International sports tournament. While at DC, he also went to Singapore to cover UFC bout. Apart from that, he has covered Lok Sabha 2019 elections in Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal while working for Tiranga TV. He has also reported on prominent cases of crime & courts during his stint with the TV channel which featured top journalists like Karan Thapar, Barkha Dutt. Bhartendu loves traveling and capture world in his lens. In the past, he has also made few documentaries related to human interest.

Next Story