Somesh Kumar is Telangana’s new Chief Secretary

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  31 Dec 2019 11:35 AM GMT
Somesh Kumar is Telangana’s new Chief Secretary

Hyderabad: As a new year approaches us, it comes with new changes to Telangana and its governance. With 2020, the state will have a new Chief Secretary. On Tuesday, December 31, Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao appointed senior IAS officer Somesh Kumar as the new Chief Secretary of Telangana.

The 1989-batch senior officer will be Telangana’s fifth Chief Secretary since the state’s formation in June 2014. Moreover, Mr Somesh will be the longest-serving CS of Telangana as he has full four years of service left until December 2023. Though there were four IAS officers senior to Somesh Kumar, KCR chose Somesh because he wanted an official who can serve for a long tenure and help deliver effective governance.

The other front-runner for the CS post was Ajay Mishra. However, he had just seven months service left, due to which KCR opted for Somesh who could continue as CS till the next Assembly elections in December 2023.

Others included senior-most IAS officer BP Acharya, who is presently the Director-General of MCRHRD and Binoy Kumar, who is now with the Defence Ministry in New Delhi. These senior officers were on central deputation and were not keen to return to Telangana. All these factors worked in favour of Somesh Kumar.

Next Story
Share it