T MPs Nama, Bandi, regular to Parliament, Revanth least; Asad most active

By Coreena Suares  Published on  3 Sep 2020 11:47 AM GMT
T MPs Nama, Bandi, regular to Parliament, Revanth least; Asad most active

Hyderabad: The monsoon session of the Parliament is all set to begin from the 14th of September, however without a 'Question hour' and a truncated 'zero hour', notified the secretaries of the lower and upper house. The move has drawn flak from parliamentarians cutting across all political parties, while few called it an act to throttle an elected representative's right to question the government over its alleged failures, specially at the time when India's economy has nose dived and its COVID numbers are skyrocketing.

Whilst MPs have expressed their robust protest on social media over a no question hour, NewsMeter takes a look at the performance of MPs elected in Telangana. It revolves around their attendance, participation in debates and the number of questions asked in the parliament during the 17th Lok Sabha session, until date.

According to data published by PRS Legislative, an independent body that records the proceedings of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, the most regular parliamentarian to Lok Sabha from Telangana is TRS MP Nama Nageshwara Rao elected from Khammam who registered an attendance of 98% . He is closely followed by BJP’s Karimnagar MP Sanjay Kumar Bandi (96%) and Nizamabad BJP MP Arvind Dharmapuri (94%), respectively.

While MLA turned MP and TPCC President N Uttam Kumar Reddy with 91 % attendance, is the only from Congress party to be regular to the parliament session. While MP A Revanth Reddy elected from Malakajgiri scored the least (52%) attendance.

Lone MP from AIMIM party MP Asaduddin Owaisi, representing Hyderabad, registered 89% attendance. However, Mr Owaisi is also the most active Parliament member. Till date, he has asked 135 questions and participated in 28 debates. The next to score a silver is TRS MP Kotha Prabhakar Reddy who asked 80 questioned and participated in 11 debates.

First time MP from Mahbubabad Ms M Kavitha, turned out to be least active in parliament with zero questioned asked in the entire 17th Lok Sabha session, so far. Well, is that a concern given the number of issues that requires center's attendance. Speaking of an MP's performance Professor Jagdeep S Chhokar, founding member of Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said, "Rajya Sabha MP Sachin Tendulkar in his 6 years of tenure attended session thrice or twice counting the day he took an oath. However, How often does an MP attend or ask questions does not measure his/her performance. How an MP is accessible to voters/electors matters the most. Also, there is no decision an MP's performance while passing bills as well. Instead an MP may utilise time working in their constituencies".

Among the 17 MPs from Telangana, the attendance of Secunderabad Parliamentarian G Kishan Reddy has not been documented since his appointment as Minister for State, Home Affairs.

Table: Member of Parliament (MPs) from Telangana and their attendance percentage:

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS)

  1. Nama Nageshwar Rao: MP from Khammam: 98 %
  2. Ramulu Pothuganti: MP from Nagarkurnool: 91 %
  3. Bheemrao B. Patil: TRS MP from Zahirabad: 89 %
  4. Gaddam Ranjith Reddy: TRS MP from Chevella: 84 %
  5. Venkatesh Netha Borlakunta: MP from Peddapalle: 73 %
  6. Kotha Prabhakar Reddy: MP from Medak: 63 %
  7. Dayakar Pasunoori : TRS MP from Warangal: 60 %
  8. M Kavitha: TRS MP from Mahbubabad: 58%
  9. Manne Srinivas Reddy: MP from Mahbub nagar: 54 %

Indian National Congress

  1. Komati Reddy Venkat Reddy: Congress MP from Bhongir: 64 %
  2. Uttam Kumar Nalamada Reddy: MP from Nalgonda: 91 %
  3. A Revanth Reddy,Congress MP from Malakajgiri: 52 %

All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen

  1. Asaduddin Owaisi : AIMIM MP from Hyderabad: 83 %

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

  1. Sanjay Kumar Bandi: MP from Karimnagar: 96 %
  2. Arvind Dharmapuri: BJP MP from Nizamabad: 94 %
  3. Kishan Reddy : BJP MP from Secunderabad: N/A
  4. Soya Babu Rao: MP from Adilabad: 88 %

Next Story
Share it