Hyderabad: Among the five south Indian states, Telangana is the only state which has not mandated any quarantine rules for domestic airline passengers. According to the data provided by the Civil Aviation ministry, different states have stipulated rules regarding the entry of domestic air passengers into the state. The data, which is categorised state-wise, shows that Telangana does not have a mandatory home quarantine rule for domestic passengers, unlike the other four states.

An official associated with the Hyderabad international airport said, “International passengers who return home through evacuation missions are put under quarantine. For domestic passengers, only symptomatic passengers will be reported and quarantined.”

Quarantine rules for domestic passengers

In the case of Telangana’s neighbour Andhra Pradesh, domestic passengers from Chennai, Mumbai, Delhi, Gujarat, Rajasthan, and Madhya Pradesh are expected to undergo a compulsory COVID-19 test soon after their arrival in the state. While passengers coming from these states are expected to be put under institutional quarantine for seven days, other passengers are home quarantined for 14 days. All passengers are also expected to obtain their state clearance from spandana.gov.in, without which they will not be allowed to board the flight.

Karnataka, meanwhile, has made it compulsory for passengers coming from Maharashtra to undergo seven-day institutional quarantine followed by seven-day home quarantine. However, certain exemptions are allowed for business passengers. Business travellers who need to return before seven days will have to show a COVID-negative certificate as well as their return ticket to the authorities. The passengers have to pay for the charges levied during institutional quarantine and also need an e-pass obtained from the Seva Sindhu portal to enter the state.

In Tamil Nadu, passengers who do not have a home quarantine facility will be provided an institutional quarantine facility. In addition to this, passengers from Maharashtra, Gujarat, and Delhi, and other symptomatic passengers will have to undergo the COVID-19 swab test upon their arrival in the state. The TN e-pass is also compulsory for all passengers to enter the state which they can obtain from https://tnepass.tnega.org/.

Kerala, which reported the first COVID-19 case in the country, has stopped institutional quarantine. All domestic passengers have to undergo a mandatory 14-day home quarantine. Airlines also have to ensure that passengers obtain their e-pass from https://covid19jagratha.kerala.nic.in/ for entry into the state, after the booking of tickets.

Amritha Mohan

Amritha Mohan is a reporter at the NewsMeter. Shortly after completing her Master's in Communication at the University of Hyderabad, she began teaching courses on media and culture as a guest lecturer at the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, North-Eastern Hill University (NEHU), Shillong. Amritha has previously interned with news organisations such as Greater Kashmir and Newslaundry. A lover of travel and photography, she spends most of her time planning road trips to the North-East. Nothing makes her happier than a green turf and a team to play football with. She primarily reports on education, tech, human-interesting and critical features.

Next Story