Telangana state diverting Central funds to CM' pet projects: BJP MP

By Coreena Suares  Published on  27 Nov 2019 4:15 AM GMT
Telangana state diverting Central funds to CM pet projects: BJP MP

Hyderabad: Nizamabad BJP MP Arvind Dharmapuri has accused the Telangana government of diverting central government funds to the Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao’s pet projects. The parliamentarian alleged that 90 per cent of the funds received under the ‘Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation’ scheme had been diverted to irrigation projects, leaving no money for development.

The parliamentarian took to social media and alleged that the state government employees are working with him are being harassed. His tweet read, “Authorities are harassed and transferred in Nizamabad district for working in unison with me in development initiatives (sic).”

District Development Coordination and Monitoring Committee (DISHA) — headed by Arvind along with the District Collector — were scheduled to be held every month, without fail. A team of 13 members, nine nominated by the MP, are supposed to review 33 central government schemes meant for Nizamabad.

While speaking to NewsMeter, Arvind explained, “We learnt from two review meetings that a high per cent of central government funds released under AMRUT had been diverted. Since the review committee is exposing discrepancies, its members are being harassed by the state government. Officials have come under pressure for sharing information.” However, when asked about the total funds received under the scheme, the MP could not reveal the amount.

The parliamentarian alleged that expenditure bill of funds under the Swachh Bharat mission is on record but not on the ground. “The review meeting also exposed the sand mafia in Nizamabad. Diverted funds could have been used for the development of the district,” he added.

When we contacted the district officials, none wanted to comment on the allegation put forth by the MP.

AMRUT scheme is envisaged to improve infrastructure in 500 cities across the country. The towns in Telangana covered under the programme include Adilabad, Greater Hyderabad, Karimnagar, Khammam, Mahabubnagar, Miriyalguda, Nalgonda, Ramagundam, Siddipet, Suryapet, and Warangal.

Next Story