TRS Rajya Sabha MP Kesava Rao vote challenged in High Court

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  8 Feb 2020 4:24 PM GMT
TRS Rajya Sabha MP Kesava Rao vote challenged in High Court

Hyderabad: The action of senior TRS leader and Rajya Sabha MP, K. Kesava Rao in casting his vote as an ex-officio member in the elections to the Chairman and Vice Chairman of Thukkuguda Municipality in Ranga Reddy district has been challenged in the High Court for the State of Telangana by 9 ward members of the Municipality belonging to BJP party. They have filed a Writ Petition seeking setting aside of the vote cast by Kesava Rao and in the interim restrain the elected Chairman and Vice-Chairman from taking any administrative decisions till the Writ Petition is decided.

Rajumoni Raju and eight other petitioners informed the Court that Kesava Rao was elected to the Rajya Sabha before the formation of

Telangana State and after bifurcation, he was declared elected as the Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) from the State of Andhra Pradesh in the draw of lots held on 30-05-2014 as per A.P. Reorganization Act, 2014. Therefore he cannot be construed as a member from Telangana

state and the Election Officer had committed illegality by allowing Kesava Rao to cast his vote as ex-officio member under Section 5 of

Telangana Municipalities Act, 2019.

Out of total 15 seats in Thukkuguda Municipality, the BJP had won 9 seats, TRS won 5 seats, and an Independent candidate in the results secured one seat declared on 25-01-2020. The election to Chairman and Vice-Chairman posts were held on 27-01-2020, and the

petitioners alleged that they were conducted most illegally and unfairly, disregarding the objections raised by them. The ruling

party misused its official power and held the elections unlawfully.

The petition is likely to come up for hearing on Monday.

Next Story