Two UoH faculty chosen for Indian Chemical Society Awards

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  3 Oct 2020 6:13 AM GMT
Two UoH faculty chosen for Indian Chemical Society Awards

Hyderabad: University of Hyderabad (UoH) is on a high after two senior faculty members of the School of Chemistry were chosen for the prestigious Indian Chemical Society Awards.

“Prof. Anunay Samanta will receive the Acharya J.C. Ghosh Memorial Award and Prof. K.D. Sen will receive the Prof. Suresh C. Ameta Award for the year, 2019 in recognition of their research contributions to Chemical Sciences,” a UoH spokesman said.

They will receive these awards and deliver the Endowment Lectures at the 57th Annual Convention of Chemists of the Indian Chemical Society at a later date.

The Indian Chemical Society (ICS), a premier Scientific Society of India was founded in 1924, as a National Forum for the community of chemists and members of allied disciplines in the country. Sir Prafulla Chandra Ray, the doyen of Indian Chemists, was the first President of ICS.

Prof. Anunay Samanta, who has been at the University of Hyderabad since 1990, is currently the Dean and a Senior Professor of the School of Chemistry. He is an elected Fellow of all the three National Science Academies of India and recipient of many national and international awards, which include J.C. Bose National Fellowship (DST, 2010 – 2024), India Citation Award (Thomson Reuters, 2012), Raman-Mizushima Lecture Award (DST-JSPS, 2014), APA Award (Asian and Oceanian Photochemistry Association, 2018), Silver Medal (Chemical Research Society of India, 2015), Prof. Sadhan Basu Memorial Lecture Award (INSA, 2017) and many others.

He is serving as the National Coordinator of the UGC Faculty Research Promotion Schemes since 2013 and Editor (Chemistry) of the Proceedings of the Indian National Science Academy from 2015. His current research focuses on ultrafast dynamics and single-molecule fluorescence spectroscopy of the perovskite nanocrystals and deep eutectic solvents. His research work led to the publication of more than 185 papers in peer-reviewed journals of repute. He is a well-cited scientist (9,500+) with an h-index of 55.

Dr. Kalidas Sen, who is at the University of Hyderabad since 1977, is presently a Senior Scientist (Indian National Science Academy) and an Honorary Professor of the School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad. After superannuation from regular service in 2013, he served as a Professor (re-employed) for 3 years and Emeritus Professor (CSIR) for 2 years at the School of Chemistry before accepting his current position.

He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences and Indian National Science Academy, recipient of Humboldt, Commonwealth, Fulbright, and NSERC Canada Research Fellowships, awarded the DAAD Research Professorship, Indo-US Professor of Physics of the American Physical Society, Visiting Fellowship of the Office of Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, and the J.C. Bose National Fellowship of DST.

His research work in electronic structure theory has led to the publication of 9 monographs and 210 research papers.

Next Story