Young Shubman Gill named in India's Test squad; KL Rahul dropped

By Bhartendu Sharma  Published on  12 Sep 2019 11:56 AM GMT
Young Shubman Gill named in Indias Test squad; KL Rahul dropped

Delhi: The BCCI on Thursday announced the 15-member team for the three-match Test series against the visitors South Africa. Young Shubman Gill received his maiden Test call while KL Rahul is dropped from the side.

Gill, who is a part of IPL franchise Kolkata Knight Riders, has finally been rewarded for his good form. Recently, the Chandigarh lad scored a plenty of runs for India ‘A’. Meanwhile, Rahul, who didn’t have a good outing in the recent West Indies tour has been dropped from the side.

With Rahul not in the side, this likely makes the way for Rohit Sharma to open for the team alongside Mayank Agrwal.

India are scheduled to play three Tests against Proteas. The first match of the series will be played in Vizag, second in Pune and third in Ranchi. The three-match series will begin after the conclusion of the three-match T20I series.

Three-match Test series schedule:

*Visakhapatnam Test: October 2-6.

*Pune Test: October 10-14.

*Ranchi Test: October 19-23.

India’s squad for three Tests: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill.

Next Story