YSRCP’s strength to go up to 6 in Rajya Sabha


  • YSRCP’s strength to go up to 6 in Rajya Sabha
  • TDP to only Kanakamedala

Vijayawada: With four members from the State due to retire from Rajya Sabha early next, discussions are doing the rounds in the Legislative Assembly corridors, over the potential candidates likely to make the cut.

Aspirants have started their efforts to draw the attention of the YSRCP boss Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy, as all four seats will go in favour of YSRCP, given numerical strength in the Assembly. In effect, its strength in the Upper House will rise to six.

According to indications available, Ayodhyaramireddy, Beedaa Masthanrao, Gokaraju Rangaraju, son of Gokaraju Gangaraju and one from scheduled castes are the names doing the rounds in YSRCP circles.

However, the nomination of YV Subba Reddy, present TTD Chairman is also being actively considered, sources said. Mr Subba Reddy is a relative of the Chief Minister and was promised Rajya Sabha seat when Magunta Srinivasulureddy was given the Ongole Lok Sabha seat, which was represented by Subba Reddy earlier.

The sitting Rajya Sabha members from YSRCP – V Vijaysai Reddy and Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy are from one community and another one from the same community will be considered, according to sources.

The party high command may finalise the candidature of Ayodhyarami Reddy or YV Subba Reddy, from Reddy community, sources said and added that Beeda Masthan Rao (BC Yadava), Gokaraju Rangaraju (Kshatriya) and one prominent SC leader are likely to be the party nominees.

Out of the existing 11 members from Andhra Pradesh in Rajya Sabha, Dr T Subbarami Reddy and Mohammed Ali Khan of Congress, Thota Seetharama Lakshmi of TDP, and K Keshava Rao of TRS, will retire from Rajya Sabha, on April 9, next year. For these four vacancies, notification is likely to be issued in February, according to EC sources.

When it comes to the rest of the 11 members, Suresh Prabhu, Y S Chowdary, and T G Venkatesh, all from Bharatiya Janata Party, will retire on June 21, 2022, and another member of BJP- CM Ramesh will retire on April 2, 2014. While V Vijaysai Reddy of YSRCP retires on June 21, 2022, Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy of the same party, and Kanakamedala Raveendra Kumar of TDP will retire on April 2, 2024.

Patri Vasudevan

Patri Vasudevan, is a senior journalist, worked with both visual and print media. He has 22 years’ experience in journalism. He has expertise in war zone reporting. Covered LTTE stories in Sri Lanka, and Nandigram & Lalgarh are best assignments, during his stint with TV9 and Sakshi TV at New Delhi. Vasudevan also served Deccan Chronicle, and filed good number of political investigative stories. As an RTI activist, Vasudevan could able to elicit frauds in the banking sector, and wrote number of interesting stories on as to how parking funds are misused.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *