Andhra Pradesh government on Tuesday sanctioned eight more special courts to deal with cases of sexual offences under Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (POCSO) Act, 2012.

As per the government order, the special courts will be established in Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Kurnool, Kadapa, Anantapur, West Godavari (Bhimavaram), Guntur (Tennali) and Krishna (Machilipatnam) districts where more than 100 cases under the POCSO Act are pending.

Each special court will have 15 staff members including a district judge (Grade-II), Administrative Officer, superintendent (head clerk), superintendent (translator), senior assistant (UDBC), stenographer, junior assistants, typists, examiner, copyist, a record assistant and a full-time masalchi.

The government has earmarked Rs 1.98 crore for annual expenditure of the courts including salaries, contingent expenses, and expense towards the purchase of furniture.

Presently, eight special courts are dealing with cases of sexual offences under the purview of POCSO Act-2012 in the state.

It may be recalled that in December-2019, Andhra Pradesh government cleared two landmark bills aimed to deliver speedy justice to women and children with the primary focus on victims of rape and other sexual offences.

The first bill is aimed to deliver justice within 21-days including investigation and trial and the second one mandates setting up special courts to try sexual offences against women and children.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story