BJP announces 78 candidates for Haryana Assembly elections

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  30 Sep 2019 5:04 PM GMT
BJP announces 78 candidates for Haryana Assembly elections

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party announced 78 candidates out of 90 seats for Haryana assembly elections which will be held on October 21. Among those who got the tickets, 38 sitting MLAs have been given another chance to contest in the polls, and seven incumbents were declined tickets. Two ministers were also not given tickets.

BJP has to announce the candidates for the remaining 12 constituencies as October 4 is the last date to file nominations. Wrestlers Babita Phogat and Yogeshwar Dutt got seats from Dadri and Baroda respectively. Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar is contesting from Karnal assembly segment.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Minister of Defence Rajanath Singh, Minister of Road Transport and Highways Nithin Gadkari and other members of Central Election Committee attended the meeting convened by Party President Amit Shah on Monday. It has cleared the names of 78 candidates.

Assembly elections for Haryana will be held on October 21, and the results will be declared on October 24. BJP won the 2014 assembly elections with a narrow margin. They hope to secure Haryana with a better margin this time.

Maharashtra is also going to polls on October 21. However, the seat-sharing between Shiv Sena and BJP has not yet been finalised. Unable to wait, Shiv Sena started to issue B forms to its candidates from Monday.

Also Read:

Next Story