Supari gang members held for plot to kill YSRCP leader in Vizag

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  3 Jan 2020 8:59 AM GMT
Supari gang members held for plot to kill YSRCP leader in Vizag

Visakhapatnam: Vizag police on Friday arrested six from a nine-member Supari Gang for hatching a plot to murder M Chiranjeevi, an advocate and a local leader of YSR Congress Party in Srikakulam. The gang reportedly made four attempts earlier but in vain.

City Police Chief RK Meena said that the gang conspired to eliminate Chiranjeev following land disputes he had with Kothakota Ammi Naidu of Telugu Desam Party. Ostensibly, this spilled over from their Etcherla Mandal political rivalry, which intensified when Chiranjeevi quit TDP leaders and joined YSRCP before the 2019 elections. Today, he is Secretary of the ruling party’s State Legal Cell.

It is believed that after YSRCP formed the government, Chiranjeevi, who was involved in some criminal cases in 2017, tried to dominate Ammi Naidu besides being involved in land-grabbing activities.

A couple of months ago, Ammi Naidu gave 40 cents of land to one S Gopi for building a burial ground at Fareedupeta village under Etcherla Mandal to SCs.

Fearing that his rival was gaining the sympathy of the people, henchmen of Chiranjeevi bashed up Ammi Naidu and tried to eliminate him. He also tried to grab some land of Ammi Naidu and tarnish his political image.

Unable to bear the harassments, Ammi Naidu decided to eliminate Chiranjeevi towards which he befriended one local reporter K Prakash, who hired rowdy-sheeters of Vizag city to liquidate Chiranjeevi, once and for all.

Ammi Naidu assured to pay Rs 50 lakh to Supari gang for the job and paid an advance of Rs four lakh. Mr Meena said that the gang conducted recce and made four to five attempts to kill Chiranjeevi.

Based on specific information, city task force police, led by A Trinad Rao and his team, nabbed six persons of the gang and recovered Rs 70,000 cash, five mobile phones and some sharp-edged knives, Mr Meena said.

The arrested have been identified as K Prakash, R Kanna Babu, G Rama Raju, A Yesudas, B Paramesh and P Anil Kumar. The police have launched a manhunt for Ammi Naidu, Madan and S Tejeswara Rao.

Next Story
Share it