Hyderabad: The results of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporations (GHMC) elections revealed that 28,604 voters used the 'none of the above' or NOTA option.

The highest number of NOTA votes, 805, were polled at Banjara Hills followed by Kondapur with 675 and Seethaphalmandi with 628 NOTA votes.

The 2020 GHMC elections recorded 46.60 per cent voter turnout. Of the total 74,12,601 electors, only 34,54,552 cast their ballots on 1 December.

The highest number of votes was polled in Mylardevpally where 37,385 citizens out of the total 79,579 cast their votes. In Subhash Nagar, 33,180 voters of the total 67,640 registered voters cast their ballots while in Gajularama out of the total 56,300 registered voters 32,370 cast their votes.

Also, the highest number of rejected votes was reported in Mylardevpally where 1,451 votes were invalid followed by Amberpet where 1,133 votes were invalid and Gajulara where 1110 votes were invalid.

The highest number of postal ballots were polled in Amberpet where 42 people cast their voters through post followed by Saidabad where 36 voters cast postal ballots and Nagole where 26 voters cast their votes through post.

The highest number of votes was polled for AIMIM candidate Syed Sohail Quadri in Pathergatti constituency where he secured 20,717 votes. He defeated his closest opponent from the TRS by 19,909 votes, the highest margin of votes between two candidates in the 2020 GHMC elections. Hemalatha Gudimetla, the TRS candidate from Subhas Nagar, secured the second-highest votes, 19,545. She defeated the nearest candidate from BJP by 10,719 votes. The AIMIM candidate from Falaknuma, K. Thara Bai, secured 19,734 votes, the third-highest votes polled this election. She defeated her nearest candidate from TRS by 17,284 votes.

The 2020 GHMC elections was a three-way contest between TRS, BJP, and AIMIM. The TRS secured 35.81 per cent of the vote share, BJP secured 35.56, and AIMIM secured 18.76 per cent. The Congress secured 6.67 per cent of the votes and the TDP secured 1.66 per cent.

The TRS won 55 seats, BJP 48, AIMIM 44, and the Congress two seats. A total of 1,122 candidates were in the fray.

An independent analysis by a Hyderabad-based NGO, Forum for Good Governance, revealed that 25 newly-elected corporators in the city have criminal records. The BJP has the highest number of corporators with criminal antecedents, 10, followed by the ruling TRS party with eight. Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM has seven corporators with criminal records

Sumit Jha

Sumit Jha is currently a multimedia journalist with NewsMeter. An alumnus of the University of Hyderabad and Amity University. He is specialised in Video Production. He was also a contributor at PARI network. Hailing from rural Bihar has spent his childhood shifting from places and people. Growing up he felt the need to document the lives and dreams of rural India. A lover of visual storytelling goes around the cities to search for Stories. He primarily reports on civic, consumer, health, human interest and data stories. You can follow Sumit on Twitter @sumitjha__

Next Story