Hyderabad: After actor Prakash Raj called it quits, his aides too have resigned to allow the new office bearers of Movie Artist Association (MAA) to formally start work.

Vishnu won the president's post defeating Prakash Raj by 100 votes Later, Prakash Raj and Naga Babu resigned from MAA membership stating that the association is filled with narrow-mindedness and regional feelings.

On Tuesday, Prakash Raj along with his group members spoke to the media alleging cross-voting. He said he has been discussing with his aides to decide about the future course of action.

Prakash Raj described the resignations as a dignified decision to ensure the smooth functioning of the association. He said earlier, mixed MAA team was busy fighting more rather than solving issues.

He alleged that there were several discrepancies in the election process. He said the counting was not held in a fair manner. They declared all the results except for the executive committee on Sunday.

"On the counting day, they announced that 11 members, who contested as the executive committee members from my panel were leading. The very next day, they announced that only seven members from my panel have won," he said.

Prakash Raj also stated that Vishnu persuaded him to withdraw his resignation on Monday. He added that he would take it back only if necessary changes were made to the by-laws.

"Non-Telugu members should be allowed to contest. If not, I don't want to be a part of the association as a voter," he said.

Actor Benerji who was elected as vice-president broke down before the media. He claimed that veteran actor Mohan Babu had manhandled him and used unparliamentarily language during the election.

Actor Uttej who won as general secretary burst into tears while recounting the alleged rudeness by the rival camp.

Actor Sameer alleged that Mohan Babu threatened the members of their panel. Most of the actors at the press meet recollected the alleged harassment they had undergone that day.

This time, 'Telugu vs non­local' dominated the elections. Prakash Raj was dubbed as non-local since he is from Karnataka. Senior actors see the election as a fight between Chiranjeevi and Mohan Babu Camps to hold sway over the Telugu film industry.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story