Do Oreo biscuits contain pork fat & milk? Here’s the truth

An infographic that claims that Oreo biscuits contain pork fat and milk has gone viral on social media.

By Sunanda Naik  Published on  19 Jan 2023 1:29 PM GMT
Do Oreo biscuits contain pork fat & milk? Here’s the truth

Hyderabad: An infographic that claims that Oreo biscuits contain pork fat and milk has gone viral on social media.

A text accompanying the photo says Oreo biscuits are “haram” as they are made from fat and pork milk as confirmed officially by the company.

The viral post is being shared with a logo of “Zamjam Realtor” along with their contact number, suggesting that they are the possible initiators of this viral allegation.

The text accompanying the post reads, “The company that officially announced that Oreo biscuit is forbidden for Muslims because it is made from fat and pork milk. Share it so that your friends can be aware too.”

A number of similar posts can be seen here.

FACT CHECK

NewsMeter found that the viral claim is fake as Oreo biscuits do not use pork fat and milk as ingredients.

We started our investigation by contacting Zamjam Realtors on the number listed in the post. The number is registered to Syed Mukaram Ahmed who clearly denied any relevance to the controversy.

“Asalam O Alaikum, we are not aware of that post. Someone used our number, email, and logo to spread it on social media. Ignore that post and don’t forward it,” he said.

Further, we searched the official website of Oreo UK to find if their biscuits are “Halal.”

On the FAQ page of the website, we found that “Oreo biscuits produced in Europe are not Halal certified but their composition or production process does not make them unsuitable for Muslim diet.”

It added, “The exceptions to this are Oreo Strawberry Cheesecake, Oreo Choc’o Brownie, Oreo Enrobed Milk & White, Oreo Cadbury Coated and Oreo Crunchy Bites Dipped.”

In 2019, when asked by a Twitter user if Oreo products are halal certified, Oreo had replied, “Halal Certification will depend on the country you live in. OREO cookies in the US and Canada are not Halal Certified. We always recommend checking the ingredients and the label to guarantee the suitability for your diet.”

https://twitter.com/Shaziak97/status/1613959864941936640

Lastly, a green dot on Oreo packets means that the product is vegetarian. To be on the safer side, always check the ingredients before purchasing any food product.

We could not find that Orea biscuits use pork fat and milk. Hence, the claim is false.

Claim Review:Oreo biscuits contain pork fat & milk.
Claimed By:Social media user
Claim Reviewed By:NewsMeter
Claim Source:facebook
Claim Fact Check:False
Next Story
Share it