TRS makes inroads into Huzurnagar, Congress loses one more MLA

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  24 Oct 2019 5:15 AM GMT
TRS makes inroads into Huzurnagar, Congress loses one more MLA


  • TRS candidate Mr Saidi Reddy won by 43,284 votes in Huzurnagar by-election
  • TRS candidate elected for the first time in Huzurnagar assembly constituency.

Hyderabad: The TRS party has made inroads into Huzurnagar, which has been a Congress bastion since 2009. The ruling party's candidate Mr. Saidi Reddy registered a vote count of 89,459 and was declared the winner. This is the first time since a decade that a non-Congress candidate has been elected to power in Huzurnagar. While Congress candidate N. Padmavathi Reddy secured 55227 votes and lost to her rival party.

The exit polls that predicted a TRS win in Huzurnagar came to pass on the day of results. The car party, since the beginning of the counting, was leading in all the rounds . While celebrations broke out across the Huzurnagar assembly constituency, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao is likely to hold press conference towards early evening on Thursday.

Speaking to media persons, the newly-elected MLA said, “Enhanced trust in welfare schemes, development activity of TRS party and commitment of the Chief Minister Mr K Chandrashekhar Rao paved the way for the party's win in Huzurnagar constituency. The opposition parties termed the Huzurnagar by-election as a referendum on the TRS ruling in Telangana. People want development and trust TRS only. The confidence of people in KCR ruling was clearly visible as our party was leading in every round and every booth-wise also. Huzurnagar people realized that the constituency had been lagging in development because of Congress MLA. That’s the reason they decided to elect TRS,” said Mr Saidi Reddy.

TPCC chief Uttam Kumar Reddy won in Huzurnagar Assembly for the past three times, but never contributed to the development, he said.

The Huzurnagar by-polls was crucial for the ruling party to reaffirm its dominance in the state politics after its KCR-led TRS party suffered an unexpected blow in the 17th Lok Sabha elections. The TRS lost four crucial Parliament constituencies to the BJP party in 2019.

For the by-election , the Congress fielded former MLA N. Padmavathi Reddy against TRS candidate Saidi Reddy. This election too turned out against the Congress candidate who lost from Kodad in the 2018 -general assembly.

Winning candidate S. Saidi Reddy attributed his win to the works of TRS in the state.

"The welfare schemes and infrastructure development by TRS attracted Huzurnagar people. The voters wanted to elect the ruling party candidate so that the development in the constituency would be faster. Majority of people realized that if the local MLA is from the ruling party, the funds disbursal would be smoother and priority in developing roads providing safe drinking water and other civic amenities,” observed a senior TRS leader in Huzurnagar.

Next Story