Hyderabad records 43.4 degrees, heatwave for next 3 days

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  22 May 2020 1:51 PM GMT
Hyderabad records 43.4 degrees, heatwave for next 3 days

Hyderabad: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) officials have predicted a heatwave condition over Telangana and Andhra Pradesh for the next three days. The Telangana State Development Planning Society (TSDPS), on 22 May, said that Hyderabad recorded the maximum temperature of 43.4 degrees Celsius, the highest in the season so far.

Meanwhile, Dondapadu in Suryapet district recorded the maximum temperature of 45.8 degree celsius, the highest in the state.

According to IMD, besides Hyderabad, heatwave-like conditions will prevail over districts like Komarabheem, Nirmal, Nizamabad, Jagtial, Mulugu, Mancherial, Mahabubabad, Bhadadri Khothagudem, Warangal, and Khammam in Telangana for the next three days.

In Andhra Pradesh, north coastal districts and Yanam will record maximum temperature, after which IMD predicts thunderstorms over some districts of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

TSDPS, in its weekly forecast, said the heatwave conditions were a result of the north/northeastwards movement of super cyclone Amphan towards West Bengal coast from 18 to 21 May and change of winds from easterly to northerly/northwesterly over the state.

For the next three days, maximum temperatures are expected to range between 430 to 460C, while the minimum temperatures will range from 270 to 300C.

The director of the planetary society of India, N. Raghunandan, said, “It is better for people to stay indoors. While many think that heatwave means the sun is closer to the Earth, but actually the sun is now very far from the Earth. It was closest this year on 5 January." He added that the temperature of the Earth depends on its Axial tilt while revolving around the sun, but not the distance from the sun.

The IMD has also issued heatwave warning over north Tamil Nadu districts, including Tiruvallur, Chennai, Kanchipuram, Villupuram, Cuddalore, Vellore, Tiruvannamalai, Perambalur, Tiruchirapalli, Karur, Namakkal, Salem, and Dharmapuri.

Next Story
Share it