G Vijayalakxmi elected as Hyderabad Mayor, Mothe Srilatha as Deputy Mayor

Ending suspense, AIMIM decides to support TRS in Hyderabad Mayor polls

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  11 Feb 2021 7:07 AM GMT
G Vijayalakxmi elected as Hyderabad Mayor, Mothe Srilatha as Deputy Mayor

Hyderabad: TRS Mayor candidate G Vijayalakshmi has been elected as the new Mayor of Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation(GHMC), the first woman in Telangana state. Gadwal Vijayalaxmi has been elected with the support of AIMIM while Tarnaka TRS Corporator Mothe Srilatha is the Deputy Mayor.

Gadwal Vijaylakshmi is the daughter of Dr K Keshava Rao Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha from TRS. She has done her B.A LLB degree in journalism. The newly elected mayor is married to Bobby Reddy with who she stayed in the USA for 18 years.

While in the USA, she worked as a research assistant at Duke University North Carolina in the cardiology department. The University is one of the 5th largest research Universities.

She returned to India in 2007 gave up her US citizenship to join her father in politics. In 2016 she contested as a Corporator from TRS party from Banjara Hills from where she won with a huge majority.

Also, she is the 3rd woman in United Andhra Pradesh to be elected as the head of a municipal body

The AIMIM president congratulated the newly elected Mayor G Vijayalaxmi. "Congratulations to the newly elected Mayor & Deputy Mayor of GHMC. Hope that, under their leadership, Hyderabad will be taken to new heights and public works will be actively taken up in areas that need them the most, including the Old City of Hyderabad. I hope that GHMC will carry out its works with honesty & financial propriety. Also, appreciate TRS for offering us the Deputy Mayor's post," said Owaisi in his tweet.

12:40 pm: TRS has nominated Banjara Hills Corporator G Vijayalakshmi as their Mayor candidate while BJP nominates RK Puram Corporator Veerannagari Radha as their Mayor candidate.

Ending speculations, Asaduddin Owaisi led All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen has decided to support TRS in the mayor polls to be held on February 11.

All the 44 Elected Corporators from the AIMIM have decided to support TRS for the post of mayor.

The oath-taking ceremony of the 149 Corporators was held on Thursday morning ahead of the elections.

Earlier, all the 149 newly elected members of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation were sworn on Thursday.

The meeting began at 11 am on Thursday. The 149 corporators who attended the swearing-in ceremony were sworn in in Telugu, Urdu, Hindi, and English. Along with the corporators, ex-officio members from the Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha, and Legislative assembly were also present for the swearing-in.

Members handed over copies of the affidavits to the Presiding Officer. Returning Officers have been specially appointed for each row to ensure that the program concludes smoothly. Former Deputy Mayor Baba Fasiuddin proposed the name of Banjara Hills Corporator G Vijayalaxmi for the post of Mayor.

The 2020 GHMC elections was a three-way contest between TRS, BJP, and AIMIM. The TRS secured 35.81 percent of the votes, BJP secured 35.56 percent and AIMIM secured 18.76 percent of the popular vote. The Congress secured 6.67 percent of the votes and the TDP secured 1.66 percent. The TRS won 56 seats, BJP 48, AIMIM 44, and the Congress two seats. A total of 1,122 candidates were in the fray.

TRS has 32 ex-officio members (MLAs, MLCs, and MPs), who will participate in the polling. The BJP has two ex-officio members, while the AIMIM has 44 corporators and 10 ex-officio members.

Next Story
Share it