Hyderabad: A special court has sentenced TRS Khairatabad MLA Danam Nagender and his associate Shetty Raju to six months simple imprisonment and fined Rs 1,000 each. The Court convicted them under section 323 read with 34 of the IPC (causing hurt). Banjara Hills police station had registered a case against the duo in 2013.

Nagender was a minister then in the Congress government. The court, however, allowed them to appeal the punishment.

In 2013, Danam Nagender's associates picked up a quarrel with a person at Banjara Hills. Police rushed to the spot and shifted both parties to the police station.

At the police station, Nagender and his associate Raju slapped the man and threatened him with dire consequences. Later, the person lodged a complaint against Danam Nagender and Raju and a case under section 323 read with 34 of the IPC was registered.

Special Court Judge Ch.V.R.R.Varaprasad after examining the evidence found the duo guilty.

In the past, BJP MLA Raja Singh, Congress MP Venkat Reddy, TRS MLA from Musheerabad Muta Gopal, former MLA, and Congress leader V Vamshichand Reddy, TRS leader Prem Singh Rathod, TRS MLAs Jogu Ramanna, Gangula Kamalakar, Hanumanth Shinde, and former MLA Ch Vijaya Ramarao were also convicted in different cases.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story