India releases list of countries ‘more vulnerable’ to coronavirus

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  7 March 2020 9:35 AM GMT
India releases list of countries ‘more vulnerable’ to coronavirus

New Delhi: The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare has brought out the list of 12 countries considered to be more vulnerable to coronavirus. On March 7, the Ministry of Health specified that preventive and containment measures need to be taken for citizens arriving from the following countries: China, Hongkong, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Vietnam, Indonesia, Nepal, Iran and Italy.

Amidst the coronavirus outbreak in the country, the government of India has listed out these countries in order to arrange for the preventive and containment measures to be taken at airport, seaports and land customs stations.

Earlier on March 3, the Ministry of Family and Health Welfare had suspended all regular visas, including e-visas, granted to nationals of Italy, Iran, South Korea, and Japan. Visa on arrival (VoA) for nationals from Japan and South Korea have also been suspended with immediate effect, in the wake of the Corona virus (COVID-19) outbreak. Visas granted to Chinese nationals were suspended earlier on February 5.

The ministry further said that both Indian and foreign passengers arriving directly or indirectly from 14 countries, including China, South Korea, Japan, Iran, Italy, Hong Kong, Macau, Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia, Nepal, Thailand, Singapore, and Taiwan, have to undergo medical screening at the time of entry. The two countries- Taiwan and Macau- have been exempt from the new list of countries classified as ‘more vulnerable’ to coronavirus.

In case of any emergency or “compelling reason” to travel to India, passengers from these countries will have to seek a fresh visa from the nearest Indian embassy or consulate. For diplomats, officials of the UN and other international bodies, OCI (overseas citizenship of India) cardholders, and aircrew from the above countries are exempted from the restrictions.

The advisory further said that Indian citizens should refrain from travelling to countries like Italy, Iran, South Korea, China, and Japan. Passengers travelling to India from abroad have also been asked to furnish self-declaration forms and travel history to health and immigration officials at all ports and airports.

Next Story