India win second consecutive super over, extend series lead to 4-0

By Anurag Mallick  Published on  31 Jan 2020 11:17 AM GMT
India win second consecutive super over, extend series lead to 4-0

Hyderabad: New Zealand once again lost a super over as India won the fourth T20 at Wellington after the match ended in a tie. Virat Kohli and men then extended the margin to 4-0.

New Zealand who had to play without their captain Kane Williamson due to a shoulder injury, appointed Tim Southee as the Captain. Tim won the toss and elected to bowl first and backed the Kiwis to chase down whatever India score.

India too made three changes as they rested Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja and gave a go to Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar and Navdeep Saini. Virat had earlier made it clear that they will be giving opportunity to the guys who haven't played.

KL Rahul and his new batting partner, Sanju Samson were out in the middle and started with an attacking approach as Sanju Samson smoked on into the crowd. But to an action replay from his last appearance for India, he threw his wicket away and got out for 8.

KL Rahul continued his fine form with the bat as Virat Kohli joined him. Virat who was looking in great touch, got out off an exceptional catch by Santhner.

The kiwi bowlers went on a rampage and broke the back of the Indian batting line up and brought the down to 88/6. Manish Pandey then made the most out of the opportunity given to him and scored a fighting 50. Navdeep Saini slogged a few at the end to take India to 165/8.

Having 166 to chase, the Kiwi batsmen struggled from the start and couldn't find the middle of their willows. Martin Guptill once again got out for a disappointing 4. Colin Munro then took the responsibility alongside Tim Seifert and anchored the New Zealand innings. It was then a result of lazy running and a freak piece of fielding by Virat Kohli that Colin Munro was run-out for 67.

Chahal then cleaned up Tom Bruce for a duck and brought India back in the game. Tim Seifert and Ross Taylor then brought the equation closer but couldn't cross the line. Shardul Thakur then bowled with great variation and as a result, they lost 4 wickets in the over. The match once again ended up in a tie and New Zealand walked out to bat in the Super over.

Two dropped catches, a wicket and a boundary off the Bumrah over resulted in a target of 14 for India to win the match and extend their lead to 4-0.

The duo of Virat and Rahul walked out to bat as Southee once again took it on to himself to bowl the crucial over.

KL Rahul absolutely middled the first ball off Southee as the ball landed in the stands. It was down to 8 off 5 for the men in blue. Rahul then pulled the next one to the fence for a 4 and made it 4 off 4. He then looked to finish the game but found Kuggeleijn in the deep. Sanju Samson then walked into bat besides Virat Kohli.

Virat Kohli then ran hard for two runs and made the equation run a ball. He then middled the next ball to the boundary and took India home in the super over.

India now lead the series by 4-0 with the final T20 to be played.

Next Story