Karnataka Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar resigns

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  29 July 2019 8:59 AM GMT
Karnataka Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar resigns

Karnataka Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar resigns soon after CM Yediyurappa won the trust vote in Vidhan Soudha on Monday. While submitting his resignation to Deputy Speaker Krishna Reddy, Ramesh Kumar said during his 14-month-long tenure as the Speaker, he had worked according to his conscience and in accordance with the Constitution.

His resignation was expected as the Speaker is usually from the ruling side as per convention and the BJP had hinted it would move on a no-confidence motion against him.

After announcing his resignation the 69-year-old Assembly Speaker who represents Congress from Srinivasapura constituency in Kolar gave his farewell speech soon after Yediyurappa won the floor test.

KR Ramesh added, I have upheld the dignity of office to the best of my ability. Sometimes we have had to take some harsh decision, we are small people and I come from a normal family. We should try and not disrespect the chair that we sit on… People come and go, chief Ministers come and go, be good and do good".

"I have decided to relieve myself from this responsibility. I wish CM BS Yediyurappa works for underprivileged people, poor people in the state, he added

Ramesh Kumar is a six-term member of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly from Srinivaspur assembly constituency in Kolar district. In June 2016, Ramesh Kumar was inducted into the Siddaramaiah led government of Karnataka as a cabinet minister.

He was elected unopposed as the speaker of 15th Assembly of Karnataka in 2018 after JD(S) and Congress unity and this was Ramesh Kumar's second stint as the Karnataka Assembly Speaker.

Karnataka Assembly speaker K R Ramesh Kumar on Sunday disqualified 14 more rebel MLAs under the anti-defection law till the end of the assembly term in 2023. Exuding confidence, Yediyurappa expressed confidence about proving the majority on Sunday. Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa-led BJP government on Monday proved the majority in the Assembly, winning a floor test in the House.

Next Story