Nitish Kumar set to become Bihar CM for 4th term, oath on Monday

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  15 Nov 2020 9:52 AM GMT
Nitish Kumar set to become Bihar CM for 4th term, oath on Monday

Hyderabad: Nitish Kumar was elected the leader of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on 15 November in Patna, paving the way for the 69-year-old to become Bihar Chief Minister for a fourth term.

The meeting was held at Nitish Kumar's official residence in Patna. Defence minister Rajnath Singh attended the meeting which was held to decide the framework for government formation in Bihar.

Mr. Kumar's party, the Janata Dal (United), had elected him as the legislature party leader. During the NDA meeting, Sushil Modi was elected the BJP legislature party leader in the state. He will also be appointed the deputy chief minister. The swearing-in ceremony is likely to take place on Monday.

Mr. Kumar handed his resignation to Governor Phagu Chauhan on Friday and has recommended to dissolve the Assembly.

The NDA meeting was attended by leaders of the four parties that had fought the Assembly elections together - JD(U), BJP, Hindustan Awam Morcha Secular (HAM-S), and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP).

The NDA won 125 seats in the 243-member Bihar Assembly where BJP bagged 74 seats and JD(U) 43. The Opposition Mahagathbandhan alliance won 110 seats. Though the BJP won the highest number of seats in the alliance, the Chief Ministerial seat was given to the JD(U) as promised by the BJP before the elections.

It is being speculated that due to the upcoming Chhat Puja on 20 and 21 November, the NDA will form the government before the puja on Monday.

Next Story