New Zealand whitewash India by 3-0; win final ODI by 5 wickets

By Anurag Mallick  Published on  11 Feb 2020 11:58 AM GMT
New Zealand whitewash India by 3-0; win final ODI by 5 wickets

Hyderabad: The Kiwis had an ODI series to remember as they completed a comprehensive whitewash against India by 3-0. They won the final ODI by 5 wickets, chasing 296 with 17 balls to spare at Mount Maunganui on Tuesday. India was whitewashed in an ODI series for the first time in 31 years. The last time was against Westindies in 1989.

The Kiwis won the toss and elected to bowl first against India as Skipper Kane Williamson was all set and ready to go. India made one change as they brought in Manish Pandey for Kedhar jadhav.

The new Indian opening duo of Prithvi Shaw & Mayank Agarwal failed to give a good start as Mayank was cleaned up by Jamieson. Virat Kohli was too fell for 9, continuing his wait for a century.

Prithvi Shaw was looking in fine form as he smashed the Kiwi bowlers for a classy 40. He was then short of his crease following some lazy running and was run-out.

Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul then accelerated the Indian innings and put up and a solid 100-run partnership until Shreyas got out for 62. KL Rahul continued his purple patch and scored a wonderful hundred, his 4th in ODIs. Manish Pandey played a great supporting role with a 42.

Both got out soon within no time as Ravindra Jadeja and Navdeep Saini hit a boundary each to take India to 296/7.

Having to chase 297 for a series whitewash, The Kiwi openers Nicholls and Guptill had another solid partnership of 106 for the first wicket. Skipper Williamson looked good for his 22 post a shoulder injury but hit one straight to Mayank Agarwal.

New Zealand's leading run-scorer Ross Taylor got out cheaply for 12 off Ravindra Jadeja following which Henry Nicholls got out for 80. He missed out on a well-deserved hundred as India made a strong comeback into the game. Chahal struck for the third time as he sent Neesham back for 19.

Colin de Grandhomme was finally among the runs as he scored a blistering fifty to take New Zealand home by 5 wickets with 17 balls to spare. They also whitewashed India by 3-0 in the ODI series, taking some sweet revenge of the T20 series earlier.

Henry Nicholls was named the Man of the Match for his 80 whereas Ross Taylor was adjudged the Man of the series for his batting heroics. He scored 194 runs in the 3 matches.

India's pillars namely Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah were completely ineffective which has been the greatest spot of bother.

India and New Zealand will now play a 2-match Test series as a part of the World Test Championship beginning from February 21 at Basin Reserve, Wellington.

Next Story
Share it