Hyderabad: The counting for the Telangana Legislative Council elections for Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Graduates' constituencies will begin at 8 a.m on 17 March.

Around 1,530 polling centres were set up in 21 districts of the state and around 7,560 officials were deployed at these polling centres. A total of 93 candidates were in the fray for the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad seat while 71 candidates contested for the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda seat.

The Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahabubnagar seat recorded total polling of 67.26 per cent while Khammam-Warangal-Nalgonda seat witnessed participation of 76.41 per cent voters.

However, the votes will be counted on a preferential basis where voters have cast their votes for their top three candidates. It becomes confusing for the agents who count the votes and it also takes more time than normal vote counting. Also, the counting involves calculation and elimination.

So, let's look at how the counting will take place.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story