Nizamabad: Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao's daughter Kalvakuntla Kavitha is set to be elected unopposed as MLC from Nizamabad Local Authorities Constituency.

This follows the rejection of the second nomination of Kotagiri Srinivas on Wednesday. Returning Officer Narayan Reddy in his report cited incomplete form 26 affidavit even after the issuance of notice on November 23, which is a mandatory requirement as per Par 10 (xiii) of Chapter VI of Returning Officer's handbook for State Legislative Council February 2016 edition.

After the last date for withdrawal of nominations on November 26, officials will announce that Kavitha was elected unopposed. Two more TRS candidates Patnam Mahender Reddy and Sunkari Raju — too would be elected unopposed from the Rangareddy segment.

The 43-year-old Kalvakuntla Kavitha is contesting as MLC for the second time. She was the Member of Parliament from Nizamabad between 2014-19. She lost the 2019 general election to BJP candidate Dharmapuri Arvind.

The election affidavit sourced by NewsMeter revealed that the assets of the Kavitha doubled in the last three years. Movable assets of K Kavitha stand at Rs 14.78 Cr, while her spouse Anil Kumar Devanapalli has assets worth Rs 14.04 Cr.

Her two sons Aaditya Devanapalli Ramayagari and Aarya Devanapalli owns properties worth Rs 6.86 Lakh and Rs 2.04 lakh respectively. Together, the value of immovable assets owned by Kavitha's family is Rs 28.92 crore.

During the 2019 election, Kavitha declared that her 'total' (movable + immovable) assets were worth Rs 7.63 Crore, while her husband, a businessman, owned Rs 9.73 Crore worth property.

It goes without saying that Kavitha's investments grew multi-fold in the last 3 years.

Meanwhile, TRS candidates are facing elections in Medak, Khammam, and other seats. The scrutiny of nominations for the Local Authorities Constituency (LAC) of Medak was completed on Wednesday by the Returning Officer and District Collector S. Harish.

The nominations were scrutinized in the presence of Cooperative Department commissioner M. Veerabrahmaiah and the papers filed by Praveen Kumar and Ireni Satyanarayana were rejected as they were not according to rules.

Nominations of TRS candidate V. Yadava Reddy, Congress candidate T. Nirmala Jayaprakash Reddy, Independent candidates B. Vijaya Lakshmi, Ch. Saibaba, and M. Malla Reddy were accepted.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story