Last CM of undivided AP Kiran Kumar Reddy quits Congress; likely to join BJP

Kiran Kumar Reddy sent his resignation to Indian National Congress president

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  13 March 2023 5:54 AM GMT
kiran kumar reddy

Kiran Kumar Reddy (file photo)

Hyderabad: Last chief minister of undivided Andhra Pradesh, N. Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned from the Congress. He sent his resignation to Indian National Congress president.

Sources said Kiran Kumar Reddy is likely to join the BJP.

Kiran Kumar Reddy won elections from Valmikipuram in 1989, 1999, and 2004 before moving to the Pileru constituency in 2009. He was the Congress’ chief whip in the assembly from 2004 to 2009. He became the assembly speaker in 2009 during YS Rajasekhar Reddy’s regime.

Kiran Kumar Reddy took over as Chief Minister from K. Rosaiah on November 11, 2010. This was the time when the Telangana statehood agitation was at its peak. Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned on March 10, 2014, when Congress decided to bifurcate the state. He was against the state's bifurcation and opposed the move both within and outside the assembly. Kiran Kumar Reddy even made the Assembly pass a resolution opposing the central government’s draft bill on bifurcation.

Later, he formed his own party 'Jai Samikyandhra Party', and contested the Assembly polls. Following his party’s miserable performance in the elections, he withdrew from politics until 2018, when he rejoined the Congress.

Next Story