UP election: AIMIM fails to deliver, wins zero seats

This will be a straight defeat for AIMIM after West Bengal where the party did not win a single seat.

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  10 March 2022 2:56 PM GMT
UP election: AIMIM fails to deliver, wins zero seats

Hyderabad: The Hyderabad-based All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) that contested the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections with much fanfare has secured zero seats. The party had fielded candidates on 100 seats but ended up with a minuscule (4.1 lakh) 0.47 per cent vote share and zero seats.

This will be a straight defeat for AIMIM after West Bengal where the party did not win a single seat.

"Uttar Pradesh public has decided to give power to BJP, I respect the decision of the public. I thank AIMIM's state president, workers, members, and the public who voted for us. Our efforts were quite a lot, but the results didn't come as per our expectations. We will work hard again," said Asaduddin Owaisi, President, AIMIM.

He added that all political parties trying to hide their defeat by raising EVM issues, it's not EVM's fault, but the chip in people's minds. There has been a success but it's 80-20. We'll start working again from tomorrow and I believe we'll do better next time.

"Minorities of Uttar Pradesh have been used as vote banks only. BJP won in Lakhimpur Kheri as well, that's why I'm saying it's an 80-20 win, this 80-20 situation will stay for years. People need to understand that our spirits are still high," added Owaisi.

Hyderabad Lok Sabha MP Asaduddin Owaisi had launched a new front, the Bhagidari Parivartan Morcha, comprising parties that have a support base among Muslims, Other Backward Classes (OBCs), and Dalits for the Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh.

Mr. Owaisi had also said that if the Bhagidari Parivartan Morcha wins the elections, it will have two Chief Ministers – a Dalit and an OBC leader – besides three deputy Chief Ministers, one of whom will be a Muslim.

In 2017, the AIMIM had fielded candidates in 38 seats in Uttar Pradesh but had failed to open its account in the Hindi heartland though it had received around two lakh votes. This time, it secured 22.3 lakh votes and increased its vote share marginally.

The AIMIM was confident of winning the Mubarakpur seat in Azamgarh where it had fielded former BSP leader Guddu Jamali. However, Jamali lost the seat that has a large population of communities of weavers, migrant workers and people from different schools of Islam.

The ruling BJP is set to return to power in Uttar Pradesh as the party has won 95 seats and is leading in 157, while its rival Samajwadi Party has won 25 seats and is leading in 89 seats, according to the Election Commission (EC) website. The Congress, showcasing a dismal performance, has won one and is leading in another seat. It will be the first time since 1985 that a ruling party will be returning to power in the state.

Next Story