Puducherry: The V. Narayanswamy-led Puducherry Legislatively Assembly became the seventh government and first Union Territory in India to pass a resolution seeking to repeal the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) on Wednesday. It is the fifth Congress State Government to do so.

Chief Minister Narayanswamy said, “A resolution urging the Centre to repeal the Citizenship Amendment Act has been passed in Puducherry Legislative Assembly.”

The resolution was passed amid a boycott by members from AIADMK and All India NR Congress.

It may be recalled that two days earlier, Governor Kiran Bedi wrote to the Chief Minister stating that the law passed by the Parliament is also applicable to Union Territories and cannot be questioned.

A petition was submitted to the Speaker VP Sivakolundhu on February 6 asking him not to permit a discussion on CAA on the floor of the House, as ‘it exceeds the power of Legislative Assembly under the Government of Union Territories Act 1963’.

After the ball was set rolling by Kerala government, Punjab, Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh have passed the resolution to revoke CAA.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *