Vijayawada: The Election Commission of India has decided to hold a by-election to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council after a seat was vacant by the former Telugu Desam Party MLC Pothula Sunita in November 2020.

The election commission said that the polls will be conducted on January 28. The issue of the election notification will come on January 11 while the last date of filing the nomination is on January 18. The last date of withdrawal of candidature is on January 21.

Former MLC Poyjula Sunita resigned from MLC seat after alleging the hampering of development by the former Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu and his son Nara Lokesh through judiciary. She said that the steps by the former CM are against the interests of BC, SC, ST and minority communities in the state.

She also said that she has decided to stand in support of Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy for the welfare of BC, SC, ST, minority welfare and development in the state.

Out of total 58 seats in the upper house of the legislature, the opposition TDP holds the maximum 30 seats while the ruling YSRCP has 13 seats followed by left-led Progressive Democratic Front has 5 seats and BJP has two seats. Five seats are vacant in the legislative council.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story