Visakhapatnam: All the 13 non-Agency Mandals of the Vizag district will now come under the jurisdiction of Visakhapatnam Metropolitan Region Development Authority (VMRDA).

On Tuesday, a G.O issued by Municipal Administration & Urban Development department said 13 Mandals of Vizag were included in VMRDA.

Out of 43 Mandals of Vizag district, 11 Mandals fall in Agency area.

Out of the 32 non-Agency Mandals, 19 were already under VMRDA and the remaining 13 were also added due to the rapid urbanization of Visakhapatnam city.

A significant urban sprawl has been detected in the fringe areas of existing VMRDA limits towards the western corridor of Visakhapatnam Metropolitan Region.

In order to reduce pressure on urban infrastructure, ensure planned development in the fringe areas, and curbing unauthorized constructions, the 13 Mandals, which have witnessed decadal population growth from 4.10% to 8.02% in 10 years (2001 to 2011) will be brought under the jurisdiction of Visakhapatnam Metropolitan Region Development Authority.

The 'Development Area' for Visakhapatnam Metropolitan Region was 6501.65 Subsequently, after the inclusion of 1628.27 Sq. Km in Srikakulam district, VMR's area was reduced to 4873.38

Further, the inclusion of Merakamudidam Mandal, Vizianagaram district covering 41 villages with a total extent of 17529 hectares or 175.29 into VMRDA has increased the total area to 5048.67 Sq.kms.

The state government after careful examination of the proposal sent by VMRDA decided to include 13 Mandals falling in Non-Agency areas of Visakhapatnam district, covering 431 Villages with an extent of 2,280.19, into the Development Area of Visakhapatnam Metropolitan Region.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story