Vijayawada: Advisor to the Andhra Pradesh Government, Sajjala Ramakrishna Reddy said the YSRCP-backed candidates bagged 82 per cent seats in the first phase of panchayat elections and the same streak will continue in the remaining phases.

Addressing a press conference on Wednesday, he slammed TDP leaders for distorting the facts with a section of media to confuse the public and try to influence them. 'These gimmicks will not work as people understood the contrast and are tangible with welfare coming to the doorstep. At least now TDP should be working on people's issues, he said'.

Sajjala stated that the party withstood the biased nature of the State Election Commissioner, who indeed went overboard in the name of constitutional powers by harassing the officers with their service records, court cases, and acted more as a politician.

Meanwhile speaking at a separate press conference, Minister for Municipal Administration Botsa Satyanarayana reiterated that the YSRCP backed candidates had swept the first phase of panchayat elections winning 82 per cent of the seats.

He dared Chandrababu Naidu to list out how their party has secured 38 per cent seats. The Minister said that YSRCP supporters had won 2,637 out of 3,244 panchayats in first phase elections, followed by TDP with 508 and 99 seats going to independents.

Giving the district wise breakup, he said in: Srikakulam of the total 321 seats, YSRCP supporters bagged 264, TDP got 53 and others won 4. In Visakhapatnam of 344, 269 went to YSRCP, 55 to TDP and 20 others. In East Godavari of 362 seats, 311- YSRCP, 44 TDP, and 7 others. In West Godavari of 239 seats, 170 by YSRCP, 34 by TDP and 35 by others.
In Krishna of 225 seats, 185 by YSRCP, 37 TDP and 3 others. In Guntur of 337 seats, 264 by YSRCP, 62 TDP and 11 others. In Prakasam of 227 seats, 186 YSRCP, 35 TDP and 6 others. Nellore of 164 total, 133 are YSRCP, 28 TDP and 3 others. In Kadapa of total 206 seats, 179 are YSRCP, 23 TDP and 4 others. Kurnool total 193 seats, 159 YSRCP, and 34 are TDP. Anantapur of total 169 seats, 146 are YSRCP, 21 TDP and 2 others. In Chittoor of total 457 seats, 371 are YSRCP, 82 TDP and 4 others.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story