Hyderabad: The Delhi government on Monday lifted the travel restrictions on passengers from Telangana and Andhra Pradesh with immediate effect. Now, passengers from the two Telugu states travelling to the national capital region will not have to provide a negative RT-PCR report.

SpiceJet on Monday tweeted that Delhi-bound passengers from Maharashtra, Telangana, and Andhra Pradesh are not required to carry a negative RT-PCR test report anymore.

On 6 May, the Delhi Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) had announced that people arriving in Delhi from the two Telugu states through any mode of transport will have to undergo 14 days of mandatory institutional quarantine.

The DDMA had said that all persons travelling from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana to other states through the national capital region by airlines, trains, or any other mode of transportation and not in possession of negative RT-PCR report (not older than 72 hours prior to undertaking the journey) or COVID-19 vaccination certificate (both doses) will be shifted to government institutional or paid quarantine facility and provided the facility to undergo RT-PCR test.

The DDMA had imposed the restrictions saying that a virulent variant of COVID-19 was reported to have been found in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

"The new strain of COVID-19 has a shorter incubation period with high transmission rate and the progress of the disease is much more rapid in this strain. Therefore, additional precautionary measures in respect of the persons coming from the states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana to Delhi through flights, trains, buses or cars are required to be taken," it had said.

Later, many institutions, including the Centre for Cellular Microbiology, had refuted the DDMA's claim. However, Delhi did not lift the mandatory RT-PCR and quarantine rule.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story