Hyderabad: Elections to fill four Upper House seats in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh will be held on March 14.

Election Commission on Thursday notified the election for four Legislative Council (LC) seats reserved for Graduates and Teachers.

Polling will be held on March 14, while counting will be conducted on March 17.

Last time, BJP candidate N Ramachandra Rao had won Mahabubnagar-Ranga Reddy-Hyderabad seat. TRS candidate Dr. Palla Rajeshwar Reddy had won Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda last time.

This time around, Congress has fielded former minister and AICC secretary G. Chinna Reddy for the Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahabubnagar constituency, while former MLC Ramulu Naik will be the candidate for Nalgonda-Khammam-Warangal constituency.

BJP sitting MLC of Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahabubnagar constituency N Ramachandra Rao has been renominated. Party chief secretary J Premedar Reddy will be the candidate for the Warangal-Nalgonda-Khammam seat.

Ruling TRS has not announced any candidates so far.

In Andhra Pradesh, independent candidate Ramu Surya Rao had won the East-West Godavari teachers seat last time. Independent candidate A. S. Ramakrishna had won the Krishna-Guntur teachers seat last time.

The term of four MLCs in two states is expiring on March 29.

The Model Code of Conduct has come into force with immediate effect in the concerned constituencies.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story