Hyderabad: Sunrisers Hyderabad have retained their captain Kane Williamson and two players from Jammu and Kashmir.

Williamson was retained for a salary of Rs 14 crore, while Abdul Samad and Umran Malik will be paid Rs 4 crore each.

David Warner, Rashid Khan, T. Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Manish Pandey are the notable players released by Sunrisers.

The teams were eligible to retain up to four players with a maximum of three Indians, two overseas players, and two uncapped Indians.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), and Mumbai Indians (MI) opted to retain four players each. Rajasthan Royals (RR), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have retained three players each, while Punjab Kings (PBKS) have retained only two.

While PBKS has the highest salary purse available with Rs 72 crore, Delhi Capitals have the least at Rs 47.50 crore. Of the 27 retained players, eight are overseas and four are uncapped Indians.

RCB retained their former captain Virat Kohli for a salary of Rs 15 crore, Glenn Maxwell for Rs 11 crore, and Mohammed Siraj for Rs 7 crore. It is worth noting that Kohli accepted a pay cut as he got Rs 17 crore in the last edition of the IPL.

The key players released by RCB include Devdutt Padikkal, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Washington Sunder. RCB now have a purse of Rs 57 crore remaining for the IPL auction.

Rohit Sharma (Rs 16 crore), Jasprit Bumrah (Rs 12 crore), Kieron Pollard (Rs 8 crore), and Suryakumar Yadav (Rs 6 crore) were retained by Mumbai Indians. The likes of Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Tent Boult, and Quinton de Kock were released by the Mumbai-based franchise. MI have a purse of Rs 48 crore available for the auction.

Punjab Kings retained Mayank Agarwal for Rs 14 crore and Arshdeep Singh for Rs 4 crore. Surprisingly, Punjab released Shahrukh Khan, Chris Gayle, and their skipper KL Rahul.

CSK retained all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja for Rs 16 crore, captain and wicket-keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Rs 12 crore), England's Moeen Ali (Rs 8 crore), and uncapped Ruturaj Gaikwad (Rs 6 crore).

The key players released by CSK include Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, and Deepak Chahar. CSK have a purse of Rs 48 crore available for the auction.

Rishabh Pant (Rs 16 crore), Axar Patel (Rs 9 crore), Prithvi Shaw (Rs 7.5 crore), Anrich Nortje (Rs 6.5 crore) have been retained by Delhi Capitals. The likes of Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Marcus Stoinis, and Avesh Khan are the key players who have been released.

KKR retained Andre Russell (Rs 12 crore), Varun Chakravarthy (Rs 8 crore), Venkatesh Iyer (Rs 8 crore), Sunil Narine (Rs 6 crore). The franchise released its former and current captain Dinesh Karthik and Eoin Morgan respectively, and Shubhman Gill. KKR have Rs 48 crore left for the auction.

Rajasthan Royals retained their captain Sanju Samson (Rs 14 crore), England's Jos Buttler (Rs 10 crore), and uncapped Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rs 4 crore). In a surprising move, RR released the England duo of Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes. RR have Rs 62 crore available for the auction.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story